Queensland Quality

by admin on April 2, 2014

Kookaburras claim Overall State Champions title p.p1 {margin: 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px 0.0px; font: 12.0px ‘Minion Pro’}

Queensland men are basking in the glory of their Alley Shield victory, their sixth in nine years.
A clean sweep was achieved with a 77-54 win over SA this morning, after clinching the title yesterday afternoon. 

The Ladies from the Sunshine State finished second as the Marj Morris trophy proved elusive. 
The Overall State Championship will also be heading back to Queensland, the combination of Men’s and Ladies results giving the Kookaburras more silverware. 
State coach Bill Cornehls said it was a great team performance. 
“All the guys played well together, it was a real team effort. Every bowl helped us get over the line.”
Having only skipped a state team on one previous occasion, Pamela Rowe picked up the Women’s best-skipped rink award, nudging Australian captain, Lynsey Clarke into second.
“I thought I’d give her a go,” said Cornehls. 
“She dropped her first rink by three, but came back strongly from there. She certainly stepped up.” 
Other personal triumphs were Mark Casey and Bolivia Millerick, who were the Queensland players of the series. 
Cornehls was quick to iterate that it is a team game, and everyone deserves praise for their performance in South Burnie. 
“You can’t always highlight individual performances like that, but it was a solid performance of 12 players representing Queensland.” 
“It was a great example of the Queensland spirit. 
It wasn’t a surface we were used to, but we got better a the tournament went on.” 
It’s been five years since Queensland last won the overall title, so as the players journey back home, they can relax in a job well done. 
“Yeah, everyone is very pleased,” confirmed Cornehls.

Alley Shield results
1. Queensland (7 wins, 10 rinks), 2. NSW (5, 15.5), 3. Victoria (5, 14.5), 4. South Australia (4, 12.5), 5. Tasmania (3, 9.5), 6. Western Australia (2, 10), 7. ACT (2, 7), 8. Northern Territory (0, 5)
Marj Morris results
1. NSW (5 wins, 15 rinks), 2. Queensland (5, 13.5), 3. Victoria (5, 13), 4. South Australia (4, 9.5, -22 net shots), 5. Tasmania (4, 9.5, -36), 6. Western Australia (3, 9.5), 7. ACT (2, 10), 8. Northern Territory (0, 5)
Overall State Champions results
1. Queensland (24 wins, 30.5 rinks), 2. NSW (20, 30.5), 3. Victoria (20, 27.5), 4. South Australia (16, 22), 5. Tasmania (14, 19), 6. Western Australia (10, 19.5), 7. ACT (8, 17), 8. Northern Territory (0, 10)