Clash of the Titans

by admin on May 11, 2015

Eight former champs through to the knockout rounds of women’s State Singles on the Sunshine Coast Pic: Kawana’s Leigh Fortington in action at today’s Women’s Singles sectionals at Buderim. 
 It’s been a massive day of bowls at clubs across the Sunshine Coast with the 2015 women’s State Singles exploding into life.
More than 50 of Queensland’s top female bowlers kicked off their campaign for gold and glory at Tewantin Noosa, Buderim and Mooloolaba bowls clubs today (Mon May 11)
But when the dust settled on Day 1, only 26 remained, with section-winners to be whittled down to a final four by sundown tomorrow.
Exactly who will make that final four is anyone’s guess, with not one, not two, not even three…but EIGHT former singles champs through to post-sectionals.

They are Maria Rigby (1995/2000), Gail Waitai (2005/2010), Sue Brady (2006), Julie Keegan (2008), Lyn Cuthbertson (2009), Ann Marie Peart (2011), Jenny Blundell (2012) and Marilyn Emerton (2013).
Possibly the biggest upset of the day was the early exit of defending champ Lynsey Clarke.

Clarke, who won the title in 2007 and again in 2014, edged past Christine Baxter in Round 1, 21-19, before a surprise loss to gun West Cairns’ bowler Dee-Anne Robertson in the afternoon, 18-21.
The Jackaroos skip wasn’t the only well-known head to roll though, with Pam Rowe, Kristy Thatcher, Sue McKenzie, Jane Bush, Christina Pavlov, Tracy Foster and Natasha Jones just a few of the other big names that failed to reach the knockout rounds.
The TFNQ district skip Robertson will be out for another champion scalp tomorrow, when she takes on 2009 winner Cuthbertson first up.
It’s just one of the many tough post-sectional match-ups, with Sue Brady v Gail Waitai — Ester Regan v Marilyn Emerton — Julie Keegan v Noelene Dutton and Elizabeth McCleary v Maria Rigby, all certain to be show-stoppers.

There are also some young (but very talented) players through to tomorrow’s post-sectionals and hoping to land the coveted Singles crown.

State rep Yvonne Lovelock (Musgrave Hill) takes on Kiani Andersen (Club Kawana), while Kawana’s Connie-Leigh Rixon, fresh from her Pairs win at Queensland Junior Champs, is out to make her mark in the senior ranks.
Bolivia Millerick is also hoping to add a Singles title to her previous back-to-back Fours (2013/2104).

Women’s Singles action resumes at Tewantin Noosa Bowls Club at 8.45am tomorrow (Tues May 12), with the semi-finals and final on Wednesday (8.45am).
Click here for more information on the 2015 State Championships, including schedule, venues, draws and up-to-date results.