Hot out of the blocks in Women’s Singles

by admin on June 12, 2016

Successful day for Queensland women but some did it tough, Lynsey Clarke and Bolivia Millerick looking for “next best” entries. Pictured left, Noelene Dutton from Kawana wins her section in the AO 2016 Women’s Singles today at Tugun Bowls Club. Pic Dave Rixon.
Story by Naomi Cescotto

A few country Queenslanders are through to the next round of the AO 2016 Women’s Singles, including self-taught Section 1 winner Maree Gibbs from Milmerran, joining husband Albert in smashing the sectionals, and Bargara girls Adele Pershouse and Gail Crompton also celebrating success.
Kandanga’s Cheryl Lorkin will be looking for one of the precious 55 “next best” passes into the next knockout round, after placing second in her section (S-33).
Cass Millerick bowling at Broadbeach is through (S-4) along with new clubmates Chloe Stewart (S-12), Serena Matthews (S-17), Melissa Larcombe (S-24), Emma Brown (S-30), Cheryl Heaps (S-34), and Liz McCleary (S-45).
Unfortunately Bolivia Millerick is out, third in S-17 behind Serena Matthews and Donna Clarke from Tweed Heads but Dee-Anne Robertson, 2nd to Cass Millerick in S-4, still has a chance of a “next best” pass.
Tweed Heads Kristy Thatcher (S-43 ), Ann Maree Peart (S-27) and Hiroko Emura (S-51) are all through, and from the northern end of the Gold Coast, new name Lorraine Quelhurst from Paradise Point (S-42).
Christine Baxter from Mt Gravatt is through but her best mate in bowls Debbie Logan will be hoping for one of 55 “next best” entries, after her section (S-19) was won by West Australian Jackaroo Kristina Krstic.
Looking good for a “next best” follow on is Aussie Jackaroos captain Lynsey Clarke, her section won by good friend and Helensvale teammate Pam Rowe (S25); Joanne Stockdale from Helensvale is also through (S-15).
In S-55, Ester Regan from Bramble Bay goes through, ahead of 2nd placed Viviana McNamara from Mudgeeraba.
Sunny Coast girls Annica McGill from Coolum Beach (S-39) is through, along with Maria Rigby now playing at Kawana (S-20) and Noelene Dutton from Kawana, winner of S-54 ahead of Wendy Wilson from Tweed Heads, hoping for a “next best” progression.
Big names of women’s bowls to win their sections are Natasha Scott Raymond Terrace NSW (S-29), Karen Murphy Cabramatta NSW (S-32), Bowls Tasmania CEO Rebecca Van Asch (S-23), and Claire Turley from Cabramatta NSW (S-53).
In S-10, young gun Molly Wilton from Raymond Terrace NSW defeated three experienced Queenslanders, second placed Mary Geddes from Bribie Island hoping for a “next best” pass into the KO rounds, finishing ahead of Broadbeach’s Val Jackson and Anne McClure.

Other sectional second-place getters hoping for progression will include Ann Russell from Musgrave Hill (S-48), June Beverley from Coolangatta (S-50), Barbara Gates from Tugun (S-21), Judy Marsland from Urangan (S-23), Karen Pickering from Tweed Heads (S-26), Lolita Treasure from McKenzie Park (S-37), and Leigh Grundy (S-56).
The Women’s Singles sectionals continue tomorrow (Tues June 14)
(Keep up with the draws and results on Bowls Australia website.)
AO Day 3 Women’s Singles sectionals – How did the Queenslanders go?
S1 Maree Gibbs Milmerran
S2 (4th Pauline Barton Jindalee)
S4 Cassandra Millerick (still listed as Caloundra but now bowling at Broadbeach), 2nd Dee-Anne Robertson Broadbeach.
S6 (3rd Kay Darling Coolum Beach)
S8 (3rd Genelita Nagy Paradise Point)
S10 1st Molly Wilton from Raymond Terrace NSW, 2nd Mary Geddes Bribie Island, 3rd Val Jackson Broadbeach, 4th Anne McClure Broadbeach.
S12 Chloe Stewart Broadbeach
S14 Gail Crompton Bargara
S15 Joanne Stockdale Helensvale
S17 Serena Matthews Broadbeach defeated Donna Clarke Tweed Heads (2nd), Bolivia Millerick Broadbeach (3rd) and Ellen Joselin Tweed Heads (4th).
S19 Kristina Krstic Manning WA, 2nd Debbie Logan Mt Gravatt.
S20 Maria Rigby Kawana (4th Carmen McCluskey Capalaba)
S21 (2nd Barbara Gates Tugun)
S23 Rebecca Van Asch (Bowls Tasmania CEO), 2nd Judy Marsland Urangan
S24 Melissa Larcombe Broadbeach
S25 Pam Rowe Helensvale, 2nd Lynsey Clarke Helensvale, 4th Kathy Masters Geebung
S26 (2nd Karen Pickering Tweed Heads, 3rd Anita Jenkins ADF Fitzroy Victoria VIC plays BQ ANZAC Chairman’s XII, 4th Tanya Kiepe Helensvale.
S27 Ann Maree Peart Tweed Heads (2nd Natalie Noronha Merrylands NSW)
S29 Natasha Scott Raymond Terrace NSW (2nd Sharyn Renshaw St John’s Park, 3rd Natalie Nordlof McKenzie Park)
S30 Emma Brown Broadbeach
S31 Adele Pershouse Bargara (4th Michaela Bailey-Nelson Musgrave Hill)
S32 Karen Murphy Cabramatta NSW (3rd Debbie Farley Yeronga)
S33 (2nd Cheryl Lorkin Kandanga, 3rd Di Viterale Kawana, 4th Veronica Hughes Chinchilla)
S34 Cheryl Heaps Broadbeach (3rd Tiffany Murray Miriam Vale, Christine McGuire Laidley)
S35 (3rd Alicja Malicka Toowong, 4th Sylvia Robinson Corinda)
S37 Christine Baxter Mt Gravatt, 2nd Lolita Treasure McKenzie Park
S39 Annica McGill Coolum Beach (4th Lyn Cuthbertson Broadbeach)
S40 (3rd Margie Read Dalby)
S41 (3rd Margaret Rowles Broadbeach)
S42 Lorraine Quelhurst Paradise Point (3rd Leigh Fortington Kawana)
S43 Kristy Thatcher Tweed Heads
S45 Elizabeth McCleary Broadbeach (4th Sue Healey Logan City)
S48 (2nd Ann Russell Musgrave Hill)
S50 (2nd June Beverley Coolangatta, 3rd Carol Watters Murgon, 4th Terri Ferris Miriam Vale)
S51 Hiroko Emura Tweed Heads (3rd Brenda Balchin Coolum Beach, 4th Mirrie Ndungu Limuru Kenya)
S52 (4th Margaret Panousis Mermaid Beach)
S53 Claire Turley Cabramatta NSW (3rd Ashleigh Jeffcoat Franklin Junction NZ)
S54 Noelene Dutton Kawana (2nd Wendy Wilson Tweed Heads, 3rd Angel So Hong Kong China)
S55 Ester Regan Bramble Bay (2nd Viviana McNamara Mudgeeraba, Bev Hadley Broadbeach, Georgina Moor Ballina NSW)
S56 (2nd Leigh Grundy Jindalee, 4th Natalie Gurr Paradise Point)
Queenslanders playing their Women’s Singles sectionals rounds tomorrow (Tues June 14)
S57 Julie Keegan is now declared for Cabramatta NSW (according to the draw), playing in the same section as Jacinta Weier Urangan and Rebecca Rixon Kawana
S58 Connie Rixon from Kawana is drawn against Kay Moran Cabramatta NSW, Helen Wood-Bradley Darra Cementco and Julie Kerry Carlton-Cornwall NZ.
S60 Noleen Brennan Scarborough has drawn same section as Natasha Jones still declared for Bramble Bay.
S61 Gail Waitai and Sayde Dunn from Broadbeach.
S62 Jess Srisamruaybai
S63 Sammie Wilson from Musgrave Hill has drawn against Dawn Hayman from St John’s Park.
S64 Linda Mitchell Pine Rivers
S65 Marilyn Emerton Kawana
S66 Georgia White Paradise Point
S67 Brittanny Wiley Binjour
S68 Marilyn Clayton from Coolum Beach has drawn against Beth Quinland St John’s Park.
S69 Kirsty de Waard from Pialba is drawn against two Malaysian competitors, including Siti Zalina Ahmad.