New QLD team for Aust Sides

by admin on February 5, 2017

Some changes in BQ’s team for Australian Sides in April, Noelene Dutton and Jess Srisamruaybai on debut, Anthony Kiepe out of retirement, Robert Wild back in. Bowls Queensland has announced its team to contest the 2017 Australian Sides Championships at Lockleys Bowls Club, South Australia from April 6 to 9.
On debut for Queensland is dual Australian Open Pairs champion Noelene Dutton (Windsor) and 17-year-old Queensland and Australian U18 squad bowler Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads).
Returning to the state team is Queensland’s second most capped player* Anthony Kiepe (314 games, Club Helensvale) back from retirement in 2015, and Robert Wild (Pine Rivers Memorial) who missed the last series but is due to play his 100th game for QLD during this tour.
The Queensland selectors made the changes after the recent Test Series against New South Wales at Club Kawana (Jan 16-17). 
“After a strong showing against NSW and a couple of strategic changes, the selectors feel we have six well balanced rinks to compete strongly in the Marj Morris and Alley Shield Competitions at Australian Sides,” BQ coordinator of selectors Peter Stanton said.
Steve McNamee (Belmont Services) and Jay Cross (Swifts) were part of the successful test campaign against NSW with QLD winning the series 2-1, but have been omitted from this selection.
Georgia White (Paradise Point) and Sue Brady (Mareeba) have been omitted from this selection, the QLD women losing the recent Series against NSW 1-2.

Immediately preceding Australian Sides, the QLD team of 12 men and 12 women will contest a Test Series against Tasmania, with two tests played on April 5 and a third test played as part of the main event.
* Queensland’s most capped player is Kelvin Kerkow OAM (377 games)
Bowls Queensland – Selected Teams
February 6, 2017
Australian Sides Championships – April 6-9
Queensland V Tasmania – April 5 
Team 1: Sam White (Paradise Point), Braidan Leese (Club Helensvale), Robert Wild (Pine Rivers Memorial), Sean Baker (skip) (Victoria Point).
Team 2: Sean Ingham (Broadbeach), Andrew Howie (Club Helensvale), Anthony Kiepe (Club Helensvale), Kurt Brown (skip) (Club Kawana).
Team 3: Jacob Nelson (Belmont Services), Jayden Christie (Club Helensvale), Brett Wilkie (Club Helensvale), Nathan Rice (skip) (Club Helensvale)
Team 1: Noelene Dutton (Windsor – on debut), Emma Brown (Broadbeach), Kristy Thatcher (Tweed Heads), Julie Keegan (skip) (Broadbeach)
Team 2: Cassandra Millerick (Broadbeach), Samantha Wilson (Musgrave Hill), Dee-Anne Robertson (Broadbeach), Bolivia Millerick (skip) (Broadbeach)
Team 3: Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads – on debut), Louise Witton (Coolum Beach), Chloe Stewart (Broadbeach), Lynsey Clarke (skip) (Club Helensvale)

Pic: QLD female Player of the Series in the recent QLD V NSW Test Series Bolivia Millerick. Bolivia will skip for QLD with Julie Keegan and Lynsey Clarke at Australian Sides 2017 and the upcoming QLD V TAS Test Series. Photo by Stu Taylor BQ.