Penultimate day run down of the AO

by admin on June 21, 2017

Day 14 – Australian Open update What titles were decided yesterday and who by?
Vision Impaired Men’s Singles Champion – Jake Fehlberg (QLD) def Russell Hadley 21-7

Vision Impaired Women’s Singles Champion – Lynne Seymour (QLD) def Joy Forster 21-17

Hearing Impaired Mixed Singles Champion – Dianne Reddick (QLD) def Janet Hogan 21-12 
Intellectual Disability Mixed Singles Champion – Nathan Appleton (QLD) def Krystie Ebert 21-2

Physical Disability Women’s Singles Champion – Lynda Bennett (NZ) def Michelle Campbell 21-8

To view the full results and fixtures visit the Australian Open Website available click on the link below:
Where are the Queenslanders still in the competition sitting at the moment?
Men’s Singles:
Nathan Rice (Helensvale, QLD) will take on Nathan Pedersen (SA) in the final on Friday (June 23) at 2:00 PM. After defeating Wayne Ruediger (SA)  21-17 in today’s semi-final.
Women’s  Singles:
Club Helensvale’s Georgia White will take on the 2015 Australian Open Singles Champion Ellen Ryan at Broadbeach at 11am today.
Women’s Pairs:
Broadbeach’s Chloe Stewart will team up with Tiffany Brodie  (VIC) to take on Van Asch (TAS) and Johns (NSW) in the semi-finals at 2.30pm this afternoon.
Fellow Queenslander Julie Keegan teams up with Ellen Ryan (NSW) to take on Krizanic (VIC) and Scott (NSW) in the second leg of the semi-final at Keegan’s home club of Broadbeach.
Men’s Fours:
Sean Baker (Pine Rivers) will have the huge task of skipping his fours team (Laguzza (NSW), Jade Groenewege (Broadbeach) and Pine Rivers’ Robert Wild) in the final on Friday (June 23) against a seemingly unbeatable Scottish team skipped by one of the toughest players in the game Alex Marshall.
Women’s Fours:
In the Women’s Fours Brodie (VIC), Bruggy (VIC), Georgia White (Club Helensvale) and Chloe Stewart (Broadbeach) go head-to-head with Ryan (NSW), Moran (NSW), Julie Keegan (Broadbeach) and Murphy (NSW) in today’s final after a successful run so far.
U18 Boys:
Indi Conlan remains as the only Queenslander in the competition he will face off against J. Studham (SA) in today’s semi-final at Broadbeach this morning at 11.45am.
U18 Girls:
Rebecca Rixon (Kawana)  and Jessica Srisamruaybai (TweedHeads) were the only two Queenslanders left in the comp and faced off this morning at 9.00am. Rixon was defeated by Srisamruaybai 21-13 and is up against M. Long (VIC) in today’s final at Broadbeach.
Men’s Over 60s:
Queensland legend Rob Parella and Paul Staggard Snr take on Peter Leon (Pine Rivers) and Warner (VIC)  in the final at Broadbeach today.
Women’s Over 60s:
The Women’s Over-60s Final starts at 1:00pm on the secondary TV rink, filmed for SBS’s The Bowls Show. The trophy will stay in Queensland with the final between Gail Crompton (Tweed Heads), Diana Cunnington  (Tweed Heads) against Adele Pershouse (Bargara), Mooloolaba’s Mary Geary.
Multi-Dis Pairs:
Nathan Appleton (North Toowoomba) and J. Barry (VIC)   take on Hanson (VIC) and Reynolds (VIC)  in the semi-final and Plackett (NSW) and Mossman Memorial’s Bernard Wolland takes on Crawford (NZL) and Skellern (NZL) in the other leg of the semi for a spot in the final at 2.30pm today.
Vision Impaired Pairs:
It’s a purely Queensland affair with Chris Backstorm (New Farm) and Jake Fehlberg (Burleigh Heads) facing off against Brandon Smith (South Johnstone) and Lynne Seymour (Thuringowa City).
What finals are on today?
*Finals held at Broadbeach*
Already under way are the Men’s Over 60s Pairs Final, Leon (QLD) and Warner (VIC) take on Staggard Snr (QLD) and Parella (QLD).
The Women’s Singles Final kicks off at 11:00am with Ellen Ryan (Cabramatta, NSW) taking on Queensland’s own Georgia White (Club Helensvale)
In the Women’s Fours Final at 4:00pm Brodie (VIC), Bruggy (VIC), White (QLD) and Stewart (QLD) go head-to-head with Ryan (NSW), Moran (NSW), Keegan (QLD)and Murphy (NSW).
In the Men’s Pairs Final (approximately 1:30pm): Ruediger (SA) and Thulborn (SA) vs Thornton (VIC), Lester (VIC)
The Vision Impaired Pairs Final starts at 2.30pm with Backstorm (QLD) and Fehlberg (QLD) facing off against Smith (QLD) and Seymour (QLD).
The Multi-Dis Pairs Final will also be taking place at 2:30 PM after today’s knockout rounds.