Under 18s selected for Australian Championships

by admin on July 30, 2017

Bowls Queensland has selected the QLD side to contest the 2017 U18s Australian Championships at Taren Point Bowling Club (Sept 30 – Oct 2).
(Pictured left: Queensland’s Jake Rynne in action at his second Australian Under 18 Championships in 2016 at Holdfast Bay Bowls Club, SA.)

On debut for Queensland will be Enoggera Bowls Club’s Isabella Lawson who will replace the outgoing Julia Allen-Best (Tin Can Bay) who has progressed into the U25s State Team, the 16-year-old Lawson will look to make her mark in competition, to secure subsequent selections.

Returning to the state team is Bargara’s Nick Cahill,15, who is fresh back from securing his first Junior Golden Nugget title in July, Nick will replace Jayden Cottell (Sth. Tweed) who played in the recent Under 18s Test Series (July 3-4) while Cahill was out of action due to a broken arm.
The Queensland selectors say they are pleased with the quality of this year’s team which showed significant promise at the recent U18s Test Series against New South Wales at Taren Point Bowls Club.

“We are confident with the team selection, especially after the great success the girls had at the Test Series, we have had some small changes and we feel it’s the best side we could have picked,” BQ coordinator of selectors Greg Bostock said.

“The team has recently played at Taren Point so we think our experience on those greens will give us the advantage over other sides, but we still have to give 100 per cent against every team we play.

“The players we have picked know how much of an honour it is to play for their state and it’s the Queensland pride and mentality that carries us through and helps the side to do well.”

The back-to-back winning U18s Test Series combination of Broadbeach’s Jessie Cottell, Shervawn Wilson (Tin Can Bay), Rebecca Rixon (Kawana) and Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads) will be back together (minus Allen-Best who has aged out of the U18s squad) for the U18 Australian Championships.

This will be the first time at the Australian Under 18s Championships for half of the team as only Cottell, Wilson, Rixon, Srisamruaybai and North Toowoomba’s Jake Rynne have represented Queensland at the event before.

This will also be the last U18s state representative competition for three of the 10 players on the state team, as Srisamruaybai, Wilson and Enoggera’s Indi Colan will all age out before the next Under 18s State competition.

Below are the teams in full for the upcoming U18s championships:

Event: Australian Under 18 Championships
Date: September 30 to October 2, 2017
Venue: Taren Point Bowling Club, NSW

Girls Teams:
Jessie Cottell (Broadbeach)

Rebecca Rixon (Kawana), Jessie Cottel (Skip)

Isabella Lawson (Enoggera), Shervawn Wilson (Tin Can Bay),  Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads)  (Skip)

Isabella Lawson, Shervawn Wilson, Rebecca Rixon, Jessica Srisamruaybai (Skip)

Boys Teams:
SINGLES Nick Cahill (Bargara)

Jake Rynne (Nth. Toowoomba), Indi Conlan (Enoggera)

Kane Nelson (Belmont Services), Shane White (Helensvale), Nick Cahill

Kane Nelson, Shane White, Jake Rynne, Indi Conlan

To see the full draw and details of the upcoming U18s Australian Championships click on the link below: