Australian Senior Sides team selected

by admin on August 7, 2017

The state and territory teams of 12 men and 12 women aged 60 & Over will be heading to the Australian Senior Sides Championships in South Australia from October 16 – 19. The state and territory teams consist of 12 men and 12 women aged 60 & Over and will head to Moonta Memorial Park and Wallaroo Bowling Clubs in South Australia for the 2017 Australian Senior Sides Championships (Oct 16-19).
The competition format will see the teams play a round robin of seven tests over four days, the Series decider often coming down to the thrilling final test on the final day.
The QLD women go into the 2017 series as defending champions after a sparkling campaign in Perth, Western Australia last year.

The only newcomer is Broadbeach’s Lyn Cuthbertson, new to the 60 plus age group but with long experience in the Open state side (52 caps).

Those with the most experience for QLD Seniors in this year’s title defence are Bargara’s Gail Crompton, Mooloolaba’s Mary Geary and Broadbeach’s Anne McClure, all with 20 plus caps.

The women’s side will be skipped by Cooloola Coast’s Wendy Ryan, Coolum Beach’s Louise Witton and Broadbeach’s Christina Pavlov.

(Coolum Beach’s Marilyn Clayton has withdrawn from the selected team for health reasons; we wish Marilyn a speedy recovery.)

The QLD men finished middle of the field last year and the selectors have gone for five new players in the Senior Side this year.

On debut for the state are Lindsay Ponting (South Tweed), Geoff Jensen (New Farm), Alan Thorp (Bribie Island), John Finlayson (Belmont Services) and Geoff Maskell (Broadbeach).

In an interesting twist, the selectors will run four of the debutantes in the same rink, skipped by successful Victorian state skip Geoff Maskell, tasked this year with stepping up for QLD.

“We picked the skips first and built the teams around them, it was about the combinations; we are fortunate to have all of these great players on board and we feel these combinations will do the best job for QLD in South Australia,” Bowls QLD coordinator of selectors Greg Bostock said.

Accompanying the QLD Senior Sides to South Australia will be women’s team manager Brenda Thompson and men’s team manager Greg Bostock (both state selectors).

Bowls Queensland – Selected Teams
2017 Australian Senior Sides Championships
October 16-19, South Australia.

KEY: Selected player, Club, No of Caps – Senior Sides (SS), No of Caps – Open

TEAM 1: Anne McClure (Broadbeach, SS 20), Adele Pershouse (Bargara, SS 13), Mary Geary (Mooloolaba, SS 20, Open 21), Wendy Ryan (Cooloola Coast, SS 7).

TEAM 2: Sally Hickman (South Tweed, SS 14, Open 52), Linda Morish (Pine Rivers, SS 14, Open 3), Sue O’Toole (Windsor, SS 7), Louise Witton (Coolum Beach, SS 7, Open 56).

TEAM 3: Lyn Cuthbertson (Broadbeach, *debut SS, Open 52), Gail Waitai (Broadbeach, SS 13, Open 34), Gail Crompton (Bargara, SS 26, Open 18), Christina Pavlov (Broadbeach, SS 14, Open 65).

TEAM 1: Max Jaffray (Broadbeach, SS 14), Peter Johnson (Caloundra, SS 7), Glen Bailey (Musgrave Hill, SS 7), Trevor Broadbent (Victoria Point, SS 7, Open 17).

TEAM 2: Greg Ash (Tweed Heads, SS 7), Lindsay Ponting (South Tweed, *debut), Nigel Smith (South Tweed, SS 41), Neville Jenkins (South Tweed, SS 47).

TEAM 3: Geoff Jensen (New Farm, *debut), Alan Thorp (Bribie Island, *debut), John Finlayson (Belmont Service, *debut), Geoff Maskell (Broadbeach, *debut).