Players announced for QLD vs NSW Interstate Test Series

by admin on November 23, 2017

Queensland selectors have announced the team to take on NSW in their Annual Test Series in February 2018. Queensland selectors are pleased to announce the team to take on NSW in their Annual Test Series in February 2018.
Held at Raymond Terrace, NSW on February 12-13, this series will feature both open and U25 teams played at the same time after being standalone events over the past couple of years. 
The QLD men currently hold the trophy after defeating NSW at Club Kawana in February this year, while NSW hold the women’s trophy. However, our team went on to claim the Australian Sides Championship Trophy in April, and with the high-calibre of players on both sides, the thrilling competition is bound to keep even the most laid-back supporter on the edge of their seat.
New editions to the open teams include former Australian and NSW representative Claire Turley, who has moved to QLD to join the Tweed Heads Bowls Club; Natasha Jones and Lauren Wilson return to the team after impressive performances in the U25s, while Jessie Cottell will make her open debut after performing well for the QLD U18 team. 
Recent QLD Champion of Club Champion pairs winner Robert Hammond from Roma, 2017 State Fours Champion Matthew Lucas, and multiple Park Beach Classic Singles Champion John Bain will make their QLD debut in the men’s team. 
Taleah Putney, Tiffany Murray, Joel Anderson and Jacob Nelson return to the U25 team, while Tahlia Camilleri will make her debut for QLD. All other players are backing up from their last series in July this year, where both the women’s and men’s teams claimed their respective Test trophies.
QLD Selection Coordinator Greg Bostock said both the open and U25 teams are very strong and should go well against NSW.
“The selectors had a difficult time choosing these teams with so many quality players available,” Bostock said.
“This gives us a great base while always looking to improve into the future. 
“Congratulations to all athletes!”
Following this series, the selectors will pick a team to represent QLD at the Australian Sides Championships in Darwin from May 3-6 2018.
See selected sides below:


QLD Women’s Team 
QLD Men’s Team

Jessica Srisamruaybai, Tweed Heads
Natasha Jones, Helensvale
Chloe Stewart, Broadbeach
Lynsey Clarke, Helensvale 
Cassandra Millerick, Broadbeach
Lauren Wilson, Helensvale
Claire Turley, Tweed Heads
Julie Keegan, Broadbeach 

Jessie Cottell, Broadbeach
Dee-Anne Robertson, Broadbeach
Kristy Thatcher, Tweed Heads
Bolivia Millerick, Broadbeach


Jayden Christie, Helensvale
Matthew Lucas, Helensvale
Brett Wilkie, Helensvale
Nathan Rice, Helensvale 

Samuel White, Helensvale
Robert Hammond, Roma
Robert Wild, Pine Rivers
Sean Baker, Victoria Point 

John Bain, South Tweed
Sean Ingham, Broadbeach
Anthony Kiepe, Helensvale
Kurt Brown, Across the Waves 


QLD Under 25 Women’s Team
QLD Under 25 Men’s Team

Angie Earle, Hamilton
April Wilson, Helensvale
Tahlia Camilleri, Helensvale
Jacinta Weier, Hervey Bay
Kirsty DeWaard, Pialba
Tiffany Murray, Kawana
Taleah Putney, Musgrave Hill


Brendan Wilson, South Tweed
Dale McWhinney-Shillington, South Tweed
Jacob Nelson, Belmont Services
Jesse Turnbull, Hamilton
Joel Andersen, Caloundra
Nic Gosley, Musgrave Hill
Scott DeJongh, South Tweed