Team picked for National Disability Champs

by admin on March 4, 2018

Bowls Queensland has picked the team to contest the 2018 National Disability Championships.
Bowls Queensland has announced the players selected to represent Queensland in the 2018 National Disability Championships (May, 20-25).

The team to contest the event includes a number of familiar faces and debutant Damien Delgado (Tweed Heads), a total of 10 players have been selected.

Team manager and coach Alan Thorp says he is excited for the championships and believes the team will do well this year and hopes they will emulate the success they had in 2017 championships.

“I’m really looking forward to this competition and I think the team will do very well, they get on fantastically as a team and make a great combination,” Thorp said.

“It will be good to see our debutant Damien in action for the state too, I think he will do well at the event he’s a great bowler as he’s focused, has a great attitude and is a team player.

“I think we have a strong team and they will all do well.”

The national championships will be held at the Kardinya Bowling Club, WA.

Queensland team:

Serena Bonnell (Burleigh Heads), Louise Hoskins (Sth Johnstone), Deb McGarry (Burrum Heads) and Kaytlyn Smith (Edge Hill Memorial).
Tony Bonnell (Burleigh Heads), Don Currie (North Ipswich), Damien Delgado (Tweed Heads), Cristian Lenske (Gympie), Brett Sellars (Bongaree) and Bernie Wolland (Mossman Memorial).
Team Coach/Manager: Alan Thorp.