$10,000 on the line in Monto

by admin on August 28, 2018

Bronwyn Torrens reports on this year’s Monto Bowls Club’s annual Men’s Fours competition.
(Pictured left: This year’s winners of the Monto Bowls Club’s Men’s Fours competition David Pearson, Damien Stewart, Carl Cecchin & Chris Ryan.)
By Bronwyn Torrens
Monto Bowls Club’s annual Men’s Fours competition attracted some fierce competition (June, 30 – July, 1) with plenty of strong teams in the mix including Australian Indoor qualifier Alex Murtagh’s team and another team with Blue Opal singles winner Kurt Brown.
Teams travelled from all over Australia to make up the field of 30 teams, all vying to tip their hat into the ring for the $3,200 first prize bounty, which the small country club raised without help from big sponsors.
“New teams and players came to support the carnival, as well as our loyal Monto supporters who arrived to enjoy the top-quality competition,” Monto’s Bronwyn Torrens said.
“We even had a team from South Australia come up to enjoy the experience after meeting some of our club mates at a Past Presidents Carnival earlier in their home State.
“It was very overcast on the weekend, which caused the greens to run slightly slower than normal but by all accounts, they both lived up to the excellent reputation which Monto Bowls Club has maintained for as long as we can all remember.”
This year’s winners were the combined Cleveland and Greenslopes team of Damien Stewart, David Pearson, Carl Cecchinand skip Chris Ryan who finished with five wins and 64 ends. 
“The Monto Fours proved to be another awesome event and we had the good fortune of being this year’s winners,” winner David Pearson said.
“Myself, Carl, Damien and Chris took a drive to Monto Bowls Club and enjoyed the best hospitality ever.
“We arrived in town just after 5.00pm on Friday, checked into the caravan park and did not touch the car again until Monday morning. 
“The Monto crew were red hot with the courtesy bus and we took advantage of it to enjoy more than just a few drinks at the club.”
Second place went to Keith Whaley, skipping his team of Daniel Stanton-Cook, Nick Cahill and Tony Townsend with five wins and 61 ends, while third place went to Alex Murtagh and his team of Steve Pesky, Damien Rideout and Peter Ivey who finished on five wins and 59 ends.
“Put Monto on your map and come enjoy some of the best hospitality around; country clubs know how important it is to make teams welcome so players, please spread the word and hopefully this will fill our green for future carnivals,” Torrens said. 
“These carnivals help us keep the doors open and the greens in tip-top condition.
“Monto Club and its members appreciated the wonderful support from all of those who attended. 
“We welcome all visitors and many enjoyed camping in our club surrounds in their caravans and motorhomes.”