Longreach trump the competition

by admin on August 29, 2018

Longreach State High School’s Blake Young & Ty Jesberg claimed the 2018 Secondary School Cup title at Pine Rivers. (Pictured left: Longreach State High School’s Ty Jesberg & Blake Young were this year’s winners of the Secondary School Cup state title.)

Longreach Bowls Club’s Ty Jesberg (14) was back once again to defend his Secondary School Cup title after his win in 2017 with Drew Young, this time round Jesberg teamed up with Drew’s older brother Blake Young (15) to tackle the competition.

This year’s combination proved to be just as successful as the last, Young & Jesberg were a tour de force and the most consistent team throughout.

The country pairing won eight out of their nine games, only going down to Emmaus College 11-7 in the final round, to finish as the champs on 16 points and a margin of 57.

Both players were thrilled to have picked up Longreach’s second title in as many years and despite it being his first outing in the competition Blake Young said he had enjoyed the event and was proud to have done as well as they did.

“I’m really happy to have won this event, I’m glad we were able to replicate the success Ty and my brother had last year,” Blake said.

“I’m sure the school will be really proud of us.”

Young gun Jesberg was equally pleased with the result after two long days of competition.

“It was a great win and I really enjoyed coming back again to play this year,” Jesberg said.

Beerwah State High School’s Everrit Evans & Chloe Runge were this year’s runners-up, they finished their campaign on 15 points and a margin of 73.

Their impressive run saw them win seven games, lose one game 12-7 to St James Lutheran College’s Chloe Jarrett & Kody Jarrett and draw 7-7 against Kai Donohue & Zayah Morgan from Chisolm Catholic College.

This year’s competitors were St Patricks College (Mackay) – Connor McLeod & Jerome Ribaldone, Bentley Park College (Cairns) – Michael Clark & Trae McLean, Longreach High School – Blake Young & Ty Jesberg, Emmaus College  (Rockhampton) – Caleb Sell & Luke Sell, St James Lutheran College (Urangan) – Chloe Jarrett & Kody Jarrett, Mt Larcom High School – Ky Bayliss & Georgina Douglass, Roma State College – Travis Weaver & John Hammond, Chisolm Catholic College (Brisbane) – Kai Donohue & Zayah Morgan, Anglican Church Grammar (Brisbane) – Edward Simpson & Samuel Hinds (James Nash HS), Mt Maria College (Gaythorne) – Alexis Williams & Isabella Lawson, Ormeau Woods High School (Gold Coast) – Dominic Stogryn & Corey Marshall, Beerwah State High – Everrit Evans & Chloe Runge, Glasshouse Christian College – Jeffrey Parkes & Jack Murphy, James Nash High School – Jarrah Anderson & Cody Bernard

You can view the 2018 Secondary School Cup final results and draw by clicking here.