Queensland brings it home

by admin on June 19, 2019

Queensland Police Bowls hadn’t had a trophy since 2004, that changed at this year’s Australian Police Bowls Championship.

By Adam Taylor

For the first time in over 15 years, the Queensland Police Bowls squad brought home some silverware. The 61st Australian Police Bowls Championship was held at Busselton Bowling Club in Western Australia from April 4-11.

The highlight for the state was the all Queensland pairs final, the first in competition history. Neville Ingram (Noorla Bowls Club – Ingham) and Adam Taylor (Paradise Point) defeated fellow statesmen Bob Watt and Russell Harber 27-14. Neville Ingram, by far Queensland’s best player during the carnival, along with his fours team of Darren Taylor, Bob Blucher and Red Edwards managed to make it to the semi-finals before falling to Victorian team on the last bowl.

The next Australian Police Championships will be held at Tuncurry NSW in April 2020, with Queensland set to host again in 2022.