Australian U18s – QLD team announced

by admin on August 8, 2019

Bowls Queensland has announced the official line-up for the 2019 Australian Under-18 Championships which will be held at Bendigo Bowls Club, VIC from October, 2 – 4.


The Australian Under-18 Champs is an exciting event in the Bowls Australia calendar as it enables the country to see first hand the depth and quality of junior bowlers emerging through the ranks.


Each State and Territory are represented with only the best of the best selected to go head-to-head at the prestigious event which has seen many of the sport’s biggest stars take part in their formative years.


“The Australian Under-18 Championships is always a very exciting time of the year, as we get a first-hand look at the bowls champions of the future over four wonderful days of competition,” Bowls Australia President Darryl Clout said.


“Many world champions and Commonwealth Games gold medallists began their illustrious careers at these junior championships and I have no doubt that throughout the four disciplines and across each state and territory, new national and international stars of the future will emerge.”


The 10 person squad consists of five boys and five girls, this squad will feature just one QLD debutant with Tweed Heads’ Kira Bourke shouldering the responsibility of State representation fresh off the back of her Junior Golden Nugget Singles win earlier in the month.


The selectors hope the impressive line up will enable Queensland to launch a successful campaign in Victoria, however, before the main event QLD will get a chance to stretch their legs for the first time in the Australian Schools Super Series.


“Both teams will compete in the Australian Schools Super Series at Tweed Heads from September, 17 to 19, it will be the first time Queensland have entered the event and I’m eager to see how our team will fare,” Bowls Queensland CEO Brett Wilkie said.


“This will be a great warm up for the Nationals with teams competing from New South Wales and Victoria.”

The girls team will consist of Kira Bourke, Caysee Wilson, Hannah Ogden, Zayah Morgan and Olivia Rothwell, while the boys team will consist of Jake Rynne, Ty Jesberg, Kane Nelson, Shane Rideout and Nick Cahill.