Winners: L-R: Jim Wise, Eileen Swanson, Linda Morish & Bob Dobinson from Pine Rivers

Prime Minister’s Cup 2020

by bqmedia on February 17, 2021

By Debbie Henricksen

Covid-19 cancelled our fun for quite some time and we were all anxious to get out of the house and back to the greens. Once we were given the green light, games directors were scrambling to schedule their club championships while district delegates were arranging Pennant competitions in the time remaining for 2020. Kallangur Bowls Club were determined to hold the 37th Prime Minister’s Cup, the only bowling trophy and event of its kind. Inaugurated in 1984, the then Prime Minister Bob Hawke and Dean Wells, then ALP Member for Petrie, co-presented the event. Kallangur Bowls Club is now home to the cup and proudly displays the charter document.

All 19 Moreton Bay District clubs were invited to send teams. Played by 18 teams on Sunday, November 15, many away teams had hopes of taking home some of the prize pool. Sponsors were Steven Miles, Deputy Premier for QLD, Labour Member for Murrumba and Patron of Kallangur Bowls Club and Shane King, Labour Member for Kurwongba and a staunch supporter of the club. Gary McNair, VP of the ALP Kallangur Branch presented the prize money and trophy. Chairman of the Board, David Hill thanked special guests, sponsors, players and volunteers for making this event a great day.

Runners-up Windsor team
Third place – Kallangur team skipped by Chris Lehane
Mens’ Committee President – Ken Small, Steven Miles – Deputy Premier for QLD & Ladies’ Committee President – Jenny La Rooij