Cutting of the Anniversary cake (L-R): Carmel Gibb (Bowls Qld), Diane van Zeeland (Toowoomba President), Bonnie Gordon (DDLBA President) and Colleen Ryan (Bowls Qld)

70 Years for Downs District

by bqmedia on May 8, 2021

By Joyce McGeorge

The celebrations for the Downs District 70th Anniversary was held recently in lovely sunny weather with lots of laughter at Toowoomba Bowls Club.

We were very honoured to have two board members from Bowls Queensland, Carmel Gibb and Colleen Ryan, as our special guests. A most enjoyable few hours was spent in the company of these ladies, which helped to make our anniversary celebrations even more special. Also present was Vice President of Bowls Queensland/ DDBA President Kerry Green, who was accompanied by DDBA Secretary Graham Horn. A special invitation was also extended to a team from Southern Downs who were in attendance. Two representatives from each of our 12 district clubs, along with seven of our eight life members and past presidents of our district were present.

A very informative booklet was put together by SVP Margaret Morris and sub-committee, containing lots of photos and interesting achievements over the 70 years, too numerous to mention here of course. How times have changed over this period of time.

Looking back on the dress code, length of dresses and hats in 1951, we have come a long way in a more relaxed environment to enjoy the sport of bowls that we all love to play.

Congratulations to all who contributed to this special day to make it the success it was and we look forward to continuing as a district on the Downs for many more years to come.

Bowlers and guest enjoying the 70th anniversary festivities at Toowoomba Bowls Club

SVP Margaret Morris, Shirley Alcock (Southern Downs), B.Q. Board Member Colleen Ryan, DDLBA President Bonnie Gordon, Barbara Carter (Southern Downs), DDLBA Secretary Vicky Sawyer & Lyn Collie (Southern Downs) DDLBA Treasurer Kay Jenkins