Double for Green Machine

by bqmedia on July 1, 2021

By Lynette Riches and Sandie Todd

South Townsville Bowls Club Inc aka ‘The Green Machine’ or ‘Townsville Mudpickers’ was victorious in both divisions they contested at the recent North Queensland pennants held in the Bowen area. NQ offer three divisions to clubs in their district – Blue, Red and Purple, equating to First, Second and Third Divisions. Blue and Red both offer spots with three club teams per side while Purple has two club teams in each side making purple the ideal division for the smaller clubs in our district or clubs with multiple entries.


  • Blue division: John Catelan Shield was won by South Townsville – Dave Print, Geoff Garner, Will Johnson & Alan Smith.
  • Red Division: Ren Cantatore Shield won by Thuringowa’s team – Matt Grundy, Peter Day, Steve Bowden & Col Paine.
  • Purple Division: Howard Curtis Shield won by South Townsville’s team – Stretch Emmerson, Laurie Patterson, Steve Aldridge & Craig Ware.