The winning team L-R: Ron Wigginton, John Sleaford, Nigel Chippendale, Noel Smalley, John Newman, Rod Mooney & Nick Jones

First Harrup Shield Win for Gracemere

by bqmedia on July 6, 2021

By Garry Walker

The Gracemere Club has won the 2021 Harrup Shield following their 2-1 win over Yeppoon Club in the final played at Victoria Park on May 9. The Gracemere Club was founded in 1991 and this was their first win in the event, after being defeated in three previous finals in 2005 at Victoria Park, Rockhampton in 2017 and in 2020 at Victoria Park.

The only remaining member from the 2005 game is John Newman, making this win incredibly special for him as he has been through the highs and lows that a bowls club goes through. To make the final, the team defeated defending champions, Victoria Park in the semi-final, in a game worthy of a final. The Victoria Park Club had earlier eliminated Diggers Memorial, while Gracemere had a good win over the Rockhampton Club.

The Harrup Shield has been played for since the mid 1950s and is keenly contested by all clubs in the Central Queensland District. The 2022 Harrup Shield will be held at the Gracemere Bowls Club.