South Townsville women break 17 year pennant drought

by bqmedia on August 26, 2021

By Kaos and Lynette Riches

South Townsville Ladies finally brought the blue pennant flag home this season in the North Queensland District after last winning the flag in 2004. After a tightly contested competition that saw four clubs play nine 18-end games over three days, the ‘Green Machine’ floated to the top of the ladder. It was a nail- biting finish between South Townsville and Thuringowa that went into the final match both on six wins.

The green machine teams of June Bode, Lee Church, Sandra Harbourne and Lyn Pool; Sandie Print, Elaine Murdoch, Carolyn Huddy and Christine Sturzaker; Lorraine McClintock, Lynette Riches, Kay Lehmann and Kaos finished with seven match wins +79.

Thuringowa’s team of Kate Leverton, Denise Davis, Corinne Dibnah and Wendy Jones won the Wilma Berryman Trophy for best performed team with seven wins and one draw plus 49 narrowly nudging out Kaos’ green machine team who had 7 wins 1 draw plus 30.

This pennant victory was extra special for South Townsville Bowls Club Inc who are celebrating their 75th anniversary this year.

It was great to see the women capture the top flag in North Queensland to join our men’s victories in the blue and purple pennants.

Congratulations to all.