Winning team North Queensland DLBA

Women’s Northern Challenge

by bqmedia on September 16, 2021

By Lesley Bates

As with many events last year, the Women’s Northern Challenge scheduled for Ingham was cancelled. Fortunately, the 2021 event of three days was contested in mid-July by four teams from the Tropical Far North Queensland, Mackay and North Queensland Districts in what was previously called the 5D Shield. Tropical Far North Queensland District, because of the size and number of players fielded two teams – Rainforest and Reef. A moving rendition of the National Anthem was sung by Brian Galloway accompanied by his skilful guitar playing with 72 competitors and spectators joining in.

The event was won for the second consecutive year by North Queensland District Ladies Bowls Association side consisting of: Team 1 – Kate Leverton, Corinne Dibnah, Elsa Piotto, Wendy Jones; Team 2: – Lorraine Mcclintock, Linda Tickle, Bernadette Hay, Lyn Harasymiuk; Team 3 – Penny Warren, Ann Polkinghorne, Kay Lehmann, Irene Wilson. Reserve: SandiePrint.Manager: GwenThomas.

Irene Wilson’s Team was the most successful team and won the Leslie Watson Trophy. Irene was thrilled and congratulated seasoned players and the emerging bowlers who had never competed at this high level of competition.

Manager of the runners-up Mackay District team, Hilary Jones-Rowan, was emotional and thrilled with how her players had performed. The Mackay side consisted of: Team 1 – Sue Mccall, Lois Deguara, Nuggy Pratt, Dealia Walsh; Team 2 – Carol Savage, Leanne Mcgeough, Carol Crosbie, Rhonda Meng; Team 3 – Karli Burns, Betty Nicolle, Dot Mcnamara, Lorraine Silman. Assistant Manager: Carmel Kirwan. Manager: Hilary Jones-Rowan.

Queensland Selectors Ron Mitchell and Gary Costigan watched many excellent games and it is wonderful that there is such a large talent pool of future State and North/South Test Series candidates.

Special thanks was given to the major sponsor, Oak Tree Retirement Village and Manager Veronica Hollands. After the event, it was with great sadness it was announced that long-time member of the Mareeba Bowls Club, Eileen Stevens had passed away peacefully in her sleep. Eileen was 76 which exemplifies that lawn bowls is a sport that can be played and enjoyed at an elite level no matter what age.

The Rainforest – Tropical Far North Queensland DLBA Team consisted of: Team 1 – Joy Baird, Christine Scott, Vicki Weiland, Liz Plowman; Team 2 – Dareyle Hester, Lorraine Lewis, Joy Dennis, Glennis Buttigieg; Team 3 – Lee Ann Mayell, Jeanette Ward, Eileen Stevens, Terry Mcalary. Reserve: Diana O’Brien. Manager: Wendy Zieth.

The Reef – Tropical Far North Queensland DLBA Team consisted of: Team 1 – Carmel De Zen, Kath O’Halloran, Daphne Begg, Denise Charman; Team 2 – Lois Ceely, Colleen Thompson, Trish Arnold, Sue Brady; Team 3 – Debbie Maxwell, Robyn Williams, Eileen Hamann, Judy Rick. Reserve: Pam Anderson. Manager: Jenny Keeling.

Runners-up Mackay DLBA

The Rainforest – Tropical Far North Queensland DLBA

The Reef – Tropical Far North Queensland DLBA