Team announced for U18 Test Series QLD vs NSW

by jgrey on June 10, 2022

Congratulations to the eight girls and eight boys who have been selected to represent QLD in the U18 Test Series against NSW in August.

Held at the Chermside Bowls Club on Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 August, this will be the first series played since the 2019 Australian U18 Championships after all U18 representative events in 2020 & 2021 were cancelled due to Covid. It will also be the first time eight players of each gender contest the series after previously being a 5 a side event. Five tests will be played over the two days in singles, pairs, triples and fours.

Kane Nelson is the only player to have represented QLD in the past playing 42 games from 2017 – 2019, Kane is the current Australian U18 Pairs Gold Medallist after winning the 2019 event with Ty Jesberg.

Chloe Runge, Dekota Brindle, Sophie Kiepe, Stella Palmer, Cody Gerick, Sam Collier and Wyatt Martin were selected to represent Queensland in the U18 QLD vs NSW Test Series last year, but unfortunately the event did not proceed. These players, along with the rest of the selected players for 2022 will make their debut for QLD U18s this year.

Christina Pavlov, BQ Selection Co-ordinator, said she was excited to see the return of the U18 test series against NSW after a two-year hiatus due to Covid.

“The calibre of the players selected for this series is a reflection of the talent we have right across the state and the commitment many districts, clubs, and coaches have put into developing junior bowls in QLD,” she said.

Following this series, 5 girls and 5 boys will be selected to represent QLD at the Australian U18 Championships at Broadbeach on 30 September & 1 October 2022.

Both days will be live streamed on Bowls Queensland’s website and Facebook page. 

Selected QLD U18 Teams


Chloe Runge (Glasshouse Mountains)

Corinne Stallan (Cooktown)

Dekota Brindle (Dara/Cementco)

Holly Anderson (Cunnamulla)

Keira Powell (Tweed Heads)

Sophie Allan (Helensvale)

Sophie Kiepe (Helensvale)

Stella Palmer (Roma)


Cody Gerick (Kawana)

Hayden Oster (Kandanga)

Kane Nelson (Belmont Services)

Jack Chirgwin (Glasshouse Mountains)

Oliver Corken (Thuringowa City)

Samuel Collier (Broadbeach)

Todd Brain (Algester)

Wyatt Martin (Gayndah)

QLD vs NSW U18 Test Series

Venue: Chermside Bowls Club

Dates: Saturday 20 & Sunday 21 August 2022