Announcing QLD teams for QLD vs NSW Test Series

by jgrey on July 5, 2022

Congratulations to the following players who have been selected for the QLD vs NSW Test Series to be held at Taren Point (Sydney) on Monday 22 & Tuesday 23 August. Teams selected are for the following groups:

  • Men’s and Women’s Open
  • Under 25
  • New 40-59 age group

Three tests will be played in total, with one test on Monday and two on Tuesday. 


  • Open Team Debutants:
    Barrie Lester, Bradley Lawson, Chris Rosanes, Cohen Litfin, Nick Cahill, Amanda Haevecker and Kira Bourke.
  • Under 25 (first time for QLD):
    John Hammond, Justin Cribbin, Zac Adams, Alexis Foot, Ashlee Knight and Zoe Stewart.
  • 40-59 team (first time for QLD):
    Adam White, Gary Pearson, Glen Pitts, John Newell, Mark Armstrong, Paul Gilbert, Wayne Turley, Jo Stockdale, Lorraine Callaghan and Pauline Laverty.

Players and spectators are delighted that this series will be going ahead this year after being cancelled due to Covid for the last two years. This year, 2022, will be the first time the 40-59 age group has its own section. The last time the Open and U25 teams battled NSW was in February 2019 at Tweed Heads. The QLD men won the Wal Currey Memorial Trophy 2 tests to 1 while the NSW women won “The Ashes” 2-1. In the U25s, NSW won both series (see full results from page 10 in the March 2019 QLD Bowler).

Following these series, an open QLD Team will be selected to contest the Men’s and Women’s Australian Sides Championships to be held at Broadbeach from 6-9 October 2022.  

Queensland Representative Teams to play NSW

Open Men:

  • Bradley Lawson (Broadbeach), Nick Cahill (Broadbeach), Sean Ingham (Broadbeach), Aron Sherriff (Broadbeach)
  • Chris Rosanes (Pine Rivers Memorial), Barrie Lester (Burleigh Heads), Matthew Lucas (Enoggera), Sean Baker (Musgrave Hill)
  • Jacob Nelson (Belmont Services), Cohen Litfin (Algester), Brett Wilkie (Kawana), Nathan Rice (Helensvale)

Open Women:

  • Kira Bourke (Tweed Heads), Julie Keegan (Kawana), Kelsey Cottrell (Broadbeach), Gail Crompton (Tweed Heads)
  • Amanda Haevecker (Helensvale), Pamela Rowe (Hamilton), Jessie Cottell (Tweed Heads), Bolivia Millerick (Broadbeach)
  • Jessica Srisamruaybai (Tweed Heads), Emma Spicer (Enoggera), Claire Turley (Tweed Heads), Chloe Stewart (Tweed Heads)

Under 25 Men:

  • Mitchell Mears (Broadbeach), Ty Jesberg (Tweed Heads), Hayden Vogler (North Toowoomba), Justin Cribbin (Jubilee)
  • Zac Adams (Algester), John Hammond (Roma), Dale McWhinney-Shillington (Burleigh Heads), Nic Gosley (Pialba)

Under 25 Women:

  • Isabella Lawson (Broadbeach), Brittanny Wiley (Binjour), Julia Brownie (West Toowoomba), Jacinta Weier (Hamilton)
  • Alexis Foot (Mackay Northern Beaches), Ashlee Knight (Mackay City), Olivia Rothwell (Enoggera), Zoe Stewart (Nth Toowoomba)

40-59 Men:

  • John Newell (Hamilton), Paul Gilbert (Darra Cementco), Mark Armstrong (Pialba), Wayne Turley (Tweed Heads)
  • Steven Tong (Helensvale), Gary Pearson (Burleigh Heads), Glen Pitts (Algester), Adam White (Helensvale)

40-59 Women:

  • Liza Burgess (Kawana), Yvonne Lovelock (Musgrave Hill), Lorraine Callaghan (Drayton), Tracy Foster (Drayton)
  • Pauline Laverty (Hamilton), Jo Stockdale (Helensvale), Noelene Dutton (Kawana), Wendy Wilson (Hamilton)

Click here to see the team selection announcement for the Under 18s