L-R: Patron Eric Anderson with Winners Mark Ram, Tim Smith, Paul Kajewski & Darren Mullens

Diggers Open Fours

by bqmedia

The David ‘Hook’ Anderson Memorial Open Fours Carnival was recently held at Diggers Memorial Bowls Club in Rockhampton. It was a closely contested competition and none of the 30 teams were able to win all five games.

The first four teams finished on 4.5 games each and only eight ends separated the first placed eight teams. Total prize money of $12,500 was paid down to the first placed eight teams. The carnival was again sponsored by Anderson City Printing Works and the club is very grateful for the continuing support of this company and our Patron Eric Anderson.

The winning team was the Bundaberg Team of Mark Ram, Tim Smith, Paul Kajewski and Darren Mullens. Second place went to Russell Farquhar’s winning team last year from Gladstone and a close third placing went to Shane McCrohon’s team from Biloela.

On the Friday afternoon preceding the fours carnival, thirty teams contested the very popular “Bowlers Paradise Pairs” event. This event consisted of two games of 14 ends of three bowl pairs. In a very tight finish, two teams of T. Lowry and D. Hatfield drew with W. Te Kau and T. Brown. The club greatly appreciates the support of Bowlers Paradise Mooloolaba for sponsoring the event.

Overall, a great three days of bowling was on show at Diggers Memorial. The carnival ran like clockwork thanks to the many members who contributed their time and effort, including our Patron Eric who helped throughout the weekend.

The club’s 50-year anniversary will be further celebrated with the holding of The Bendigo Bank Open Fours Carnival on the 12th and 13th of November 2022, with prize money totalling $10,700.

Contributed by Ken Day, photo credit Mark Dineen