Mareeba’s Protected Day Winners L-R Gary Kriesel, Wally Fergerson, Beverly Dayes (Bendigo Bank) Pauline Kriesel & Peter Soda (Mareeba bowls club President)

Mareeba’s Protected Day and Rodeo Festival

by bqmedia

Twenty-two self-selected teams of three players from Far North Qld, played 5 games of 12 ends at the annual Mareeba’s Protected Day, sponsored by The Mareeba Community Bank Branch of Bendigo Bank as part of the Mareeba Rodeo Festival activities.

The annual competition is an open game of 2 bowl triples played for cash prizes donated by Bendigo Bank. This event was played on Sunday, 3 July.

Mareeba is fortunate to have a world class lawn bowling venue with a shade covered carpet green incorporated in the Cedric Davies Memorial Hub on Anzac Avenue.

These are the results of Mareeba’s Protected Day, which is played by both men and ladies and in return the men play on our ladies day:
• 1st Gary & Pauline Kriesel, Wally Fergerson
• 2nd Graham Davies, Clive Flanagan, Edna Parkes
• 3rd Ettore, Santina & Vittore Tiraboschi
• 4th Berto Srhoj, Joe Milicevic, John Gordon
• 5th Marco Tiraboschi, Graham Hird, Lorraine Mills

It was a great day of bowls, with the visiting players enjoying our fine weather and hospitality. Mareeba Bowls Club wishes to thank the sponsors, players, volunteers and cooks who donated and supplied food for the players throughout the day, ensuring a great day of bowls and fellowship.


The Rodeo Festival Day is a club-selected open triples/fours ladies day and was held in early July. The bowling green was filled with players keen to play 2 x ten ends of triples/fours before meeting the rodeo queen entrants for afternoon tea. The day was sponsored by the Mareeba Rodeo Committee.

The Mareeba ladies held a monster raffle to entertain both the entrants and the visiting bowlers from other clubs on the Tableland. The ladies were also the skips on the day.

Results of the Rodeo Festival Day:
• 1st Dorethy Bew, Rob Brown, Laurie Steffensen
• 2nd Jan Leinster, Joe Milicevic, Ray Mitchell
• 3rd Ethel Thompson, Bob Pitson, TaniaSprengal, Lyn Kattenburg

Contributed by Yvonne Vogler

Rodeo Festival Day Winners L-R: Rob Brown, Laurie Steffensen & Liz Plowman (games director)