Third Arm Bowling Tournament

by bqmedia

The North Queensland Arm Bowlers recently held their third annual Arm Bowls Tournament at Suburban Bowling Club in Townsville. Thirty six bowlers, both men and women, filled all nine rinks to play three games of 16 ends, three bowls pairs and no time limit. Scoring was: 10 points a win, 5 points a draw, end win counted.

In the final tally, Peter Sturzaker and Angus Miller won overall by two shots with Wayne Erikson and Gary Polkinghorne tying for 2nd place with Geoff Garner and Harry Poole and 3rd place went to Ray Trunic and Rod Butcher. The winner’s trophy was donated by Noorla Bowls Club and mounted by Wayne Erikson. Thank you to the sponsors of the medals, Ron and Dianne Jepson.

Contributed by Wayne Erikson & Michele Emmerson

L-R: Gary Polkinghorne, Ron Jepson (sponsor), Angus Miller, Peter Sturzaker & Wayne Erikson (who mounted the trophy)