QLD North vs South Challenge Teams and Host Club Announced

by jgrey on September 19, 2022

The fifth annual Bowls Queensland North versus South Challenge will be held at the Suburban Bowling Club in Townsville on October 29 and 30, 2022. 

Held for the last four years, this event has been a great promotion for the sport of bowls throughout the State. After the last two years at Mossman Memorial Bowls Club, the series returns to Suburban BC, the home of the inaugural event in Townsville.

The State’s finest players will be in action with many players set to make their debut in the series. The format will be Men’s and Women’s teams, 12 players per team, three rinks of fours, three test series of 21 ends in each game, two games on Saturday and one game on Sunday morning.

Players will travel from across QLD including Cairns, Townsville, Mt Isa, Airlie Beach, Mackay, Yeppoon, Emerald, Monto, Binjour, Bundaberg, Hervey Bay, Roma, Toowoomba, Sunshine Coast, Brisbane and Gold Coast/Tweed.

Queensland selectors will be in attendance during the series searching for new talent.

Bowls Queensland would like to thank the Suburban Bowling Club, local businesses, North QLD Men’s and Ladies Districts for their support in attracting this event to the region.

Event Page:  2022 North VS South Challenge – Bowls Queensland (bowlsqld.org)

Congratulations to the following players and managers on their selection. 

Women – North

  • Alexis Foot, Bronwyn Torrens, Suzanne Kington, Adele Pershouse 
  • Ashlee Knight, Dealia Walsh, Madi Styles, Terry McAlary
  • Karli Burns, Brittanny Wiley, Wendy Jamieson, Joan Tennent 

Manager: Kaye O’Sullivan

Women – South

  • Olivia Rothwell, Amy Evans, Emma Spicer, Chloe Stewart
  • Eileen Swanson, Julia Brownie, Amanda Haevecker, Bolivia Millerick
  • Isabella Lawson, Zoe Stewart, Sue Brady, Lynsey Clarke

Manager: Christina Pavlov

Men – North

  • Mark Edwards, Nick Twining, Justin Cribbin, Alex Murtagh
  • Ray Kurtz, Andrew Paskins, Nic Gosley, Mark Armstrong 
  • Keith Whalley, John Hammond, Graeme Kath, Armando Isgro

Manager: Ron Mitchell

Men – South

  • Tyler Pettigrew, Nathan Chapman, Ryan Digby, Aaron Hewson
  • Stephen Sail, James Schiulaz, Jason Grundon, Brett Wilkie
  • Zac Adams, Scott De Jongh-Fitzpatrick, Nick Cahill, Barrie Lester

Manager: Brad Harris