Inaugural Qld High Performance Academy Squad Announced

by jgrey on February 7, 2023

Following the January announcement introducing the new Queensland High Performance Academy Program, encompassing athletes aged between 15 to 30, sixteen of Queensland’s ‘Next Generation of Champions’ have been identified to join forces as part of the inaugural squad for 2023.

The squad members have been recognised for inclusion into the development program based on their strong performances and results at State based events, as well as exhibiting strong personal qualities and a keen ambition to strive for success at the highest level.

All athletes will work closely with Academy Manager and Queensland Pathways Coach Lynsey Clarke and Bowls Queensland Coaching Committee Coordinator Alan Thorp, who will provide a structured training environment, educational learning opportunities, mentorship, support, encouragement and guidance.

Clarke is really excited about what the platform can provide for the many aspiring young bowlers coming through the ranks across Queensland.

“We have such a talented pool of young super stars spread throughout our fantastic State, the hardest part of the job has been to narrow down our squad list for the first year!

“We are delighted with our first intake of squad members for 2023 and look forward to working closely with them to further develop, grow, and increase their skill sets and personal qualities both on and off the bowls green.

“Ultimately we (and the Program) are all about helping assist our Squaddies to achieve their dreams and fulfil their whole person potential.”

We congratulate the incoming Queensland High Performance Academy Squad for 2023:


Amy Evans – Hamilton                                                

Ashlee Knight – Mackay City                                     

Jacinta Weier – Hamilton                                           

Julia Brownie – West Toowoomba                          

Lexie Foot – Northern Beaches Mackay                  

Madi Styles – South Townsville                                

Olivia Rothwell – Enoggera                                       

Stella Palmer – Roma                                                  


Dale McWhinney Shillington – Burleigh Heads

Hayden Oster – Kandanga

John Hammond – Roma

Justin Cribben – Jubilee

Mitch Mears – Broadbeach

Nic Gosley – Pialba

Riley Gerick – Belmont Services

Ty Jesberg – Club Tweed