QLD Men Win Australian Senior Sides

by Bowls QLD

The Queensland Men have taken out the Australian Senior Sides Trophy after going through undefeated at the Joondalup Bowling Club in Perth WA.

The Queenslanders didn’t have it all their own way throughout the Championships having to overcome some close calls along the way. After a good start to the event defeating ACT and NSW on day 1, they then got the better of defending Champions Victoria in round 3. The afternoon proved to be much harder against the home State of Western Australia with the game going down to the wire, the Queenslanders sneaking a draw after being down to keep them as the only undefeated team. After a good win versus South Australia in round 5 they were challenged again in the afternoon game, this time by Tasmania. After being 16 shots down, the Queenslanders clawed their way back to within 1 shot before the margin blew out again to 10. In a magnificent team effort, the Queenslanders scored 13 unanswered shots to lead by 3 going into the last end. Keeping it tight, the Queenslanders snuck home by 2 in an epic battle. A final round victory against NT clinched the title for the Queenslanders, undefeated for the tournament in what was a great team performance.

Well done to Bill Cornehls, Ray Kurtz, Scott Chamberlain and John Finlayson for being the best performed rink of the men’s tournament and the only one undefeated, closely followed by Keith Whalley, Jim Wise, Alan Howard and Greg Rolls in second with six wins.

The Women’s team had some great battles with a couple of close games not quite falling their way. They ended up with four wins out of seven to finish fifth on the ladder.

Congratulations to John Finlayson and Brenda Thompson for being awarded the QLD Players of the Series.

Thank you to QLD Team Managers Gary Costigan and Linda Morish. Well done to the Joondalup Bowling Club and Bowls Australia for another great Australian Senior Sides Championships.

Round 7
Women QLD 60 def NT 54
Brenda Thompson, Terry McAlary, Gail Crompton, Sue Brady 32-13
Maria Rigby, Joan Tennent, Adele Pershouse, Tracy Foster 20-14
Cheryl Heaps, Frances Craig, Debbie Logan, Karen Goldsworthy 14-30

Men QLD 75 def NT 38
Phil Jordan, Max Jaffray, Neville Jenkins, Scott Franklin 32-13
Keith Whalley, Jim Wise, Alan Howard, Greg Rolls 22-11
Bill Cornehls, Ray Kurtz, Scott Chamberlain, John Finlayson 21-14

Find full results HERE

The Australian Sides Championships will run from 13 to 16 October with the QLD Open Women’s and Men’s Teams playing Tasmania tomorrow in a Test Series as a lead into the main event.

The Australian Championships follow from 17-20 October.

Below: Australian Senior Sides Men’s Champions – QLD

Below: QLD Players of the Series – Brenda Thompson and John Finlayson with Managers Linda Morish and Gary Costigan