by Bowls QLD

At Souths Suburban Bowls Club, Mackay

Defending champions Mark Armstrong & Nic Gosley from Pialba and Club Tweed’s Claire Turley & Lynsey Clarke both lead their respective sections after two wins on day 1. The Pialba pair snuck home in a see-sawing battle with Airlie Beach’s Harry Quod & Armando Isgro by 2 shots in the afternoon game while Club Tweed defeated Hamilton’s Jane Bush and Emma Spicer to be the only team unbeaten in their section.

Section 2 of the men’s has two teams undefeated, Algester’s Martin Carloss & Glen Pitts along with Club Kawana’s Geoff Harrison & Kurt Brown who are set to do battle in the third and final round tomorrow morning to determine the section winner. Algester staged a remarkable comeback from 9-20 down against Belmont Services’ Jacob & Kane Nelson to win 21-20 in round 1.

Christine Murdoch & Adele Pershouse from Bargara lead the women’s section 2 and are the only undefeated team leading into the third and final round tomorrow morning. Medal rounds will follow in the afternoon.

Live streamed on Bowls QLD website, Facebook and YouTube: 2023 Livestreams – Bowls Queensland (

Please find the event program, results and more information: 2023 State Champion of Club Champion – Bowls Queensland (

Thank you to event sponsors: Mackay Regional Council, BIOScapes, Souths Leagues Club, and Key Solutions Group.

2023 Champion of Club Champions – Group Winners

Group 1: Claire Turley & Lynsey Clarke (Club Tweed / Gold Coast Tweed)
Group 2: Teresa Smedley & Marivic Hamiton-Sparkes (Algester / Cunningham)
Group 3: Carol Swift & Wendy Adcock (Taroom / Condamine)
Group 4: Jane Bush & Emma Spicer (Hamilton / Brisbane)
Group 5: Christine Murdoch & Leanne Gundry (Maryborough / Fraser Coast)
Group 6: Sandra Burgess & Adele Pershouse (Bargara / Bundaberg)
Group 7: BYE
Group 8: Carla Pizzi & Carmen Mugica (Noorla / North QLD)

Group 1: Jacob Nelson & Kane Nelson (Belmont Services / Gateway)
Group 2: Cohen Litfin (Marty Carloss sub) & Glen Pitts (Algester / Cunningham)
Group 3: Laurie Guihot & John Hammond jnr (Roma / Maranoa/Warrego)
Group 4: Geoff Harrison & Kurt Brown (Club Kawana / Sunshine Coast)
Group 5: Mark Armstrong & Nic Gosley (Pialba / Fraser Coast)
Group 6: Clem Magee & Graham Hudson (Rockhampton / Central QLD)
Group 7: Harry Quod & Armando Isgro (Airlie Beach / Mackay)
Group 8: Graham Von Hoff & Duane Cahill (Leichhardt & Mt Isa / North West QLD)

Playing schedule:
Women’s and Men’s Pairs: Monday 23 October & Tuesday 24 October
Women’s and Men’s Singles: Wednesday 25 October & Thursday 26 October