Brendan Wilson Wins First State Singles

by Bowls QLD

After finishing an agonisingly close second (24-25) in last year’s final, Brendan Wilson has gone one better this year, claiming the QLD State Men’s Singles Title 25-20 over Luke Turner.

Wilson jumped out of the blocks to lead 6-0 and holding a four until Turner converted for two shots with his last. Turner then worked his way into the game to trail 11-9, before a purple patch from Wilson extended his lead to 20-9. Down 22-14, Turner hit his straps including saving game a couple of times to trail by three shots 23-20. Wilson was patient and steadied to pick up the two shots he needed to win his maiden State Singles Title. A pleasing win for Wilson after coming so close in last year’s final to Kurt Brown. Wilson credited Turner for his game in the final and was emotional in thanking his family for their ongoing support.

In the Bronze Medal Match, Adam Liddell defeated Gary Pearson 25-16. Pearson led 9-6 early until Liddell finished of the stronger of the two to claim third.

Bowls Queensland extends major thanks to our host Club and sponsor Club Musgrave as well all our host clubs. These events would not be possible without the countless hours put in by club staff and volunteers – a huge thank you to all including the greens staff at all the clubs and in particular the team at Club Musgrave.

Thank you also to the live streaming team from Bowls Gold Coast Tweed for their stellar coverage and thank you to all who took part in the competition over the past two weeks.

Thank you to Bowls QLD Committee’s/staff and club volunteers/staff for their contribution to the successful running of this event.

Thank you to event sponsors Containers For Change, Experience Gold Coast and Club Musgrave.

Click here for more event information —– Click here for results

Watch Live Streams HERE

MEN’S Semi Finals Results
Luke Turner 25 def Gary Pearson 23
Brendan Wilson 25 def Adam Liddell 23

Quarter Finals Results
Luke Turner 21 def Jarryd Davies 20
Gary Pearson 21 def Trentan Healey 16
Adam Liddell 21 def Quoi Huynh 20
Brendan Wilson 21 def John Balzarolo 11

QLD State Singles Champion – Brendan Wilson with Club Musgrave Chairman Lou Maffei