ANZ Railways Institutes across the ditch carnival

by admin on May 7, 2018

Queensland took out the Commissioner’s shield and Dennis Cup following their test match wins at the 42nd Australia & New Zealand Railways Institutes Biennial Intersystem Bowls Carnival in March. (Picture from left: Back, David Hatfield, Brian Roper, Mark Argent, Bill Carey, Ross Phoenix, Mick Wilson. Middle, Jeff Ward, Gary Gray, Bruce Archer, Mike Lowe, Ron Greig, Brad Smith, Robert Cook. Front, Neil Krome, Trevor Treichel, Gary Simpson, Rod Myles, Betty Goodwin (Manager), Lex Goodwin, Hans AhChee, David Buxton.)
The Queensland team have won the Commissioner’s Shield and Dennis Cup for the test matches at the recent 42nd Australia and New Zealand Railways Institutes Biennial Intersystem (ANZRI) Bowls Carnival.
The competitions were held at Burnside Bowling Club, Christchurch from March 12-21, after defeating previous winners New South Wales.
Queensland’s Bill Carey, with the help of his team of Mike Lowe, Bruce Archer and Rodney Myles won the Davey Paxton Trophy for the undefeated Rink in the 6 test matches. A wonderful effort from this team.
In the morning competitions, Queensland’s David Buxton came home with the Runner-up Kiwi Trophy coming second with 5 wins + 42 to West Australia’s David Harris’s 5 wins + 67. 
Our pairs team of Ross Phoenix and Garry Gray fell at the last hurdle after winning their first five games, to lose The James Cairns Trophy to New Zealand’s Owen Vincent and Don Kilgour.
However, in the ANI Trophy for Triples, Queensland’s Brian Roper, Hans AhChee and skip Bruce Archer were successful with five wins from their six games.
Queensland came in second in the Simpson Trophy and Anderson Fours games to victors, New South Wales. 
It was a very good effort from our Queensland teams.