First Division winner Elise Bennett & Anthony Hetherton

In memory of Ted Porteus – Victoria Park

by bqmedia on October 3, 2021

By Garry Walker

Another great afternoon of bowls in memory of late member Ted Porteus was held recently, after being postponed earlier in the year due to wet weather.

The winning team, First Division with two wins, was Elise Bennett (Moama Bowls Club) and Anthony “Ant” Hetherton (Victoria Park ) whilst in second place was Lyndall Boswood and Anthony Lowry (Victoria Park).

The winners in Second Division with one win and one loss were Maureen Brett and Alan Brett (Whyalla Golf Bowling Club) and runners up were Ken McCrory and Brian Ashworth (Victoria Park).

In Third Division for teams with two losses, the winners were George and Barbara Freisacher (Rockhampton) and runners-up were Ros and David Bass (Pacific Palms Bowls Club NSW).

The Sportsman’s Prizes went to Ann and David Kent (Victoria Park) and Shirley and Peter Row (Whyalla Bowls Club).

A big thank you to Trevor Lawrence, Colleen Lawrence and Elaine Bramble for the smokos, Michael Forrester for the cards and bar, Margaret Farr for looking after the money and the raffle, while Gary Hansen and Tony Lowry started mowing and rolling both greens at 5.30am. Ted’s family is very happy that the club is continuing to hold this day in memory of their father and would like it to continue for many years to come.

First Division runners-up Tony Lowry & Lyndall Boswood
Second Sportsmans Ann & David Kent
Third Division winners George & Barbara Freisache