Winners South Townsville L-R: Lorraine McClintock, Lynette Riches, Kay Lehmann & Kaye O’Sullivan (Kaos)

South Townsville claims NQDLBA Premier Cup

by bqmedia on November 7, 2021

Congratulations to the South Townsville ladies who have brought home the Premier Cup for the first time since 2011.

This four-day event attracted 11 clubs from Ingham to Bowen, each playing 10 games of 21 ends.

The Premier Cup, formerly known as the Standard Cup, is the marathon of lawn bowls in the North Queensland District and it is the ladies’ equivalent of the men’s Dunn Cup. Each club in the North Queensland District is invited to enter one women’s fours team.

South Townsville’s team of Lorraine McClintok, Lynette Riches, Kay Lehmann and Kaye O’Sullivan won nine games with a margin of 84. The team made an emotional and loving tribute to their four mothers who were also keen bowlers in their acceptance speech. Runner up was the Wangaratta team of Denise Wallace, Margaret Wilson, Penny Warren and Linda Tickle. Unfortunately, the retractable shade cover had been ripped so the players soldiered on in breezy, sunny conditions. The new carpet green which had been in play for the last two years was excellent.

The event was run seamlessly by controllers Carolyn Huddy and Sandra Harbourne with excellent advice and umpiring by national umpires, Terri Crozier and Michael Loughead. Last year’s winners, Ayr, was the host club so a big thank you to president Beryl Cornford and her cheery band of bar and kitchen volunteers, who ensured the event was an outstanding success.