Bowls Queensland AGM

by admin on March 24, 2015

Delegates from Queensland’s 35 bowls districts met at Enoggera (Brisbane) today to decide who would direct the activities of Bowls Queensland during the coming year. Former Bowls Queensland chairman of umpires John Dawson is the new chairman of Bowls Queensland.
Dawson was deputy chairman under Musgrave Hill’s Ron Chambers for the past year, his first year on the board of Bowls Queensland.
Chambers has served four consecutive years as BQ chairman, and eight consecutive years in total on the board.
Ron Mitchell from Cutheringa (Townsville) was elected as Deputy Chairman, after only one year as a board director.
Greg Flynn from Enoggera was re-elected unopposed as BQ director of finance.
The three BQ board executive positions, chairman, deputy chairman, and director of finance, are elected annually.
In addition to the executive, there are four board director positions, elected every two years.
Margaret Vincent from Mooloolaba was not up for relection this year, nor was Ron Mitchell, but given Mitchell has stepped up to an executive position, a casual vacancy has been created on the board. (The board will consider a list of nominations to fill the casual vacancy and likely make a decision at the new board’s first meeting, on April 21).
There were four nominations for the two directors positions that were declared vacant at this year’s AGM, including incumbent director Allan Bennett from Souths Suburban Mackay, who was returned with a vote count of 363.
Former board director and BQ director of finance DIanna Wenham from Dalby was also returned to the board, with the highest vote count of 377.
Helensvale’s Teresa Armitage was unlucky to miss out, with 358 votes, she will be one of the candidates considered by the board to fill the casual vacancy created by Ron Mitchell’s ascendency to the executive.
The other candidate for a board director’s position was Alan Locket from …, who pooled 174 votes in his first year of nominating for a board position.