Lesley completing her delivery of her bowl – correct

Umpire with Joan Brotherton – Rink possession, mat position & player changes

by bqmedia on August 10, 2021

I have continued to receive many queries regarding the interpretation of various laws and I thank all members again for the opportunity to discuss their various queries. I trust that I have been of assistance to you all. Some of these queries are as follows:

Rink Possession
Q: A player had just delivered his/her bowl and it was about half-way up the rink when the opponent stepped onto the mat to deliver their bowl. Is this correct?
A: No – refer Law 13 (page 29) – Possession of the Rink:

  • 13.1 Possession of the rink will belong to the player or team whose bowl is being played.
  • 13.2 As soon as each bowl comes to rest, possession of the rink will transfer to the opposing player or team after allowing time for marking a toucher as soon as it comes to rest.
    Important: No one shall play a bowl while the previous bowl is still in course and if it is a toucher it is required to be marked as soon as it comes to rest.

Mat Position
Q: A player has just delivered the last bowl of the end and it has not come to rest yet when the opponent picks up the mat. Is this correct?
A: No – refer Law 6.2 (page 23) – During each end.

  • 6.2.4 If a player picks up the mat before the end has been completed, an opposing player must replace the mat in its original position.
    Important: It could happen that the last bowl being played may be displaced, interfered with and must be returned to be replayed and therefore if the mat has been removed then Law 6.2.4 would cover the situation. Therefore, if when the last bowl comes to rest and marked if necessary then the following will happen.
  • 6.2.7 After the last bowl required to be played in each end has been delivered, a player or the marker must lift the mat and place it completely beyond the face of the rear bank. Opponents in Singles can, however, agree to carry the mat up the rink so that they can use it at the next end.

Player Changes
Q: A team of four (4) players enter the Club Fours Championship and before the 1st round, one of the players is not available due to ill health and will most likely not be available for the whole championship. What is the situation regarding replacement of the player?
A: The player can be changed before the 1st round as follows:

DR.2.2 Team Nominations (page 115/116)

  • 2.2.1 If approved by the Controlling Body, the players nominated to form a team entered in a competition may be changed before their first round in that competition.
  • 2.2.2 Any player withdrawn before the first round shall be regarded as not having entered the competition and can act as a substitute or replacement player in the competition.

    DR. 2.3 Constitution of Teams (page 116)
  • 2.3.1 A team shall become constituted when the jack is rolled in the first end of the first game to be played by that team.
  • 2.3.2 Players in a team forfeiting or receiving a forfeit shall be constituted and cannot act as a substitute or replacement player in any other team in that competition.
  • 2.3.3 If a player in a team becomes unavailable or is incapable of playing, the Controlling Body may authorise the use of one substitute player and/or one replacement player.
Valda stepping on the mat before Lesley’s bowl has come to rest – incorrect
Valda picking up the mat just as Lesley has completed her delivery of her last bowl which is still in course – incorrect
After Valda has picked up the mat, she has just thrown the mat on the bank – incorrect
Correct positioning of the mat on the bank – as it is completely beyond the face of the bank – correct